Proceedings of the Board of Education Independent School District #2180 Regular Meeting #7 January 9, 2017 7:00 PM High School Library

Members Present: Lane Schwitters, Deb Brandt, Scott Ruiter, Tate Mueller, Carmel Thein, Julie Alsum Others Present: Brian Koslofsky, Superintentent; Melissa Sparks, HS Principal; Doug Runia, Elementary Principal, Kim Sandry, Business Manager.

Chairman Lane Schwitters called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm. Pledge of Allegiance

Motion by Brandt, second by Ruiter to approve the agenda as presented. Motion passed by unanimous vote.

Administration of Oath of Office

Brian: "Having signed the acceptance of office and oath of office, please publicly affirm your commitment by repeating the Oath of Office after me:"

Ruiter, Thein, and Alsum: "I affirm that I will support the Constitution of the United State and of this state, and that I will discharge faithfully the duties of the Office of School Board Member of Independent School District No. 2180 to the best of my judgement and ability."

Annual Reorganization:

Election of Officers:

Board Chair:

Nominations: Lane Schwitters by Ruiter, Deb Brandt by Mueller.

1st vote: Tied 3-3, Schwitters, Ruiter, Thein for Schwitters, Brandt, Alsum, Mueller for Brandt. 2nd vote: Tied 3-3, Schwitters, Ruiter, Thein for Schwitters, Brandt, Alsum, Mueller for Brandt. 3rd vote: Tied 3-3, Schwitters, Ruiter, Thein for Schwitters, Brandt, Alsum, Mueller for Brandt. Schwitters declared acting Board Chair until a deciding vote can be made according to MSBA.

Vice Chair:

Nomination: Scott Ruiter by Schwitters, Tate Mueller by Brandt. Vote: Tied 3-3, Schwitters, Ruiter, Thein for Ruiter, Brandt, Alsum, Mueller for Mueller. No Vice Chair elected. This position is not required.

Clerk:

Nominations: Deb Brandt by Ruiter, Julie Alsum by Brandt.

Vote: Julie Alsum elected Clerk, 4-2.

Treasurer:

Nominations: Scott Ruiter by Brandt.

Ruiter declared Treasurer.

Committee Appointments:

Motion by Brandt, second by Mueller to appoint the following board members to the committees as listed. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Community Education: Deb Brandt

Continuing Education/Curriculum Advisory Committee: Lane Schwitters Facilities/Health and Safety: Tate Mueller, Julie Alsum, Deb Brandt

Finance/Negotiations: Lane Schwitters, Scott Ruiter, Carmel Thein.

LCTN Governing Board: Lane Schwitters Legislative Liaison (MSBA/MREA): Deb Brandt Transportation: Julie Alsum, Tate Mueller

Board Compensation Rates:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Thein to set the Board compensation rates as listed below (same as 2015-2016). Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Regular Board meeting: \$100 Committee Meeting: \$75 Meetings over 4 hours: \$100 All Day Working Sessions: \$100 MSBA/MREA Workshops: \$75

MSBA/MREA Workshops over 4 hours: \$100

Chair: \$500 Clerk: \$100 Treasurer: \$100

Recorder: \$25 per meeting

Motion by Brandt, second by Alsum, to set the mileage reimbursement rate as the current Federal rate (\$.535). Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Official Designation:

Motion by Brandt, second by Thein, to set the official designations as follows. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Depositories: Citizen's Alliance Bank, Heritage Bank, MSDLAF

Meeting Dates: Second Monday of every month in the Board Room at the High School

Meeting Time: 6:00 pm

Official Newspapers: Clara City Herald, Raymond-Prinsburg News

Notification Methods: District Office, email, website

Legal Counsel: Ratwik, Roszak, & Maloney

Signature Authorizations:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Brandt, to set the following signature authorizations as follows. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Electronic Fund Transfers – Kim Sandry, Business Manager/Payroll Specialist

Cathy Schueler, Accounts PayableCathy Schueler, Student Activities

- Brian Koslofsky, Superintendent

- Scott Ruiter, Treasurer

- Lane Schwitters, Chair

All Other Accounts: Kim Sandry, Business Manager

Brian Koslofsky, Superintendent

Safe Keeping Investment Securities:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Mueller, to authorize the superintendent to make investments in Federally insured/secured accounts which will yield the greatest interest rates and approve United Banker's Bank as Safe keeper of Citizen's Alliance Bank's pledged collateral as required by MN Statute 118A.03. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Approval of Consent Agenda:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Mueller, to approve the consent agenda as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote. Special Thanks to the retiring teachers.

Communications Reports:

Mr. Dammann: Reported on progress of Activities survey, 7th grade girls basketball has started.

Mr. Runia: Reported on OLPA testing, Writers conference, Spelling Bee, Science Fair.

Mrs. Sparks reported on HS happenings: Jan. 9 inservice, Students winning awards, Bryce Olson awarded STEM teacher of the month, and Sno Week the week of Jan. 30.

Brian Koslofsky reports on District Happenings: Enrollment, Public meetings format, Facilities (Carpet installed at East, Door 42 at East added Keyless access), posting for Elem. Music, upcoming meetings.

Discussion Items:

Tax Impact Analysis, Non-renewing operating referendum and tax implications, and mailer for election.

Business Items:

Motion by Thomton, second by Smith, to approve the Resolution directing administration to make recommendations for reduction in programs and positions and reasons there for. Roll Call vote: Schwitter, yes, Alsum, yes, Brandt, yes, Thein, yes, Ruiter, yes, Mueller, yes. Motion carried.

Motion by Mueller, second by Brandt, to approve the election judges for the February 7, 2017 Special Election as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Public comment by MaryElin Miller.

Meetings and Workshops:

Committee Meetings - TBD

MSBA Leadership conference, Jan 12-13, Minneapolis

Public Meeting, 7:00pm, January 19, East Elementary Cafeteria

Public Meeting, 7:00pm, January 23, High School Cafeteria

Public Meeting, 7:00pm, January 30, West Elementary Cafeteria

Regular Board Meeting, Feb. 13, 6:00pm Board Room.

Adjournment of Meeting

Motion by Brandt, second by Mueller, for adjournment. Motion carried by unanimous vote. Meeting adjourned at 8:35 pm.

Julie Alsum, Clerk Kim Sandry